Posted on

A Ten Mile Hike On The Iron Mountain Trail

Yesterday Elena and I put the dogs in the car and drove over to Danville. We hiked the Iron Mountain Trail and made 10 miles. Even our little 15.7 lb dog Alice made the whole 10 mile walk. Some fifteen years ago I was a very poor man and did not even own a car. I rode around on a bicycle that stills hangs in our garage downstairs. All of those years ago I lived in a rented room in Danville. I had to ride that bike along the Iron Mountain Trail between Danville and Walnut Creek BART station. I had to ride the BART all the way around to San Francisco and then get the Caltrains down to the job I had with George S. May Company in San Jose. It was a hard life and I’ve come a long way.

About tatamkuluafrica

I am a man who has lived n 6 of the 7 continents. I first arrived in Africa on April 18, 1981. Africa has been a part of my life since. I spent 8 months living in a Xhosa village in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa. I was given he nickname Tatamkulu Africa. In Xhosa it means "Grandfather Africa." In April of 1994 I was allowed to vote in the first democratic election in South Africa..I was honored to be part of such a historical moment. It was a beautiful and a magical day.

Leave a Reply

