Posted on

“I Miss The Hungry years’

Elena and I went by the clinic where she worked over ten years ago as a medical assistant. It is Ravenswood Health Center in East Palo Alto. Little has changed in the last decade except they added a garden. It brought back some nice memories for both of us. It was a time when we were poor and struggling to reach big goals. Neil Sedaka once did a song talking about missing the hungry days. He meant the days when one was poor and struggling. Helen Reddy also did a song that applies when you reach your goals as follows:”Is that all there is..if that’s all there is my friend then let’s keep dancing.” When you reach the top of Mount Everest, it’s a great rush for a minute or two. Then you wonder if it was all worth it. I understand what Buzz Aldrin felt like when he came back from walking on the moon at age 39.

About tatamkuluafrica

I am a man who has lived n 6 of the 7 continents. I first arrived in Africa on April 18, 1981. Africa has been a part of my life since. I spent 8 months living in a Xhosa village in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa. I was given he nickname Tatamkulu Africa. In Xhosa it means "Grandfather Africa." In April of 1994 I was allowed to vote in the first democratic election in South Africa..I was honored to be part of such a historical moment. It was a beautiful and a magical day.

Leave a Reply

