Posted on

My Love For The Classic Film; “It’s A Wonderful Life”

Each year the classic 1946 film “It’s A Wonderful Life” is an important part of my Christmas celebration. Last night I pulled out and dusted off the DVD of the classic film with Jimmy Stewart and dear Donna Reed. Elena watched it with me. (Perhaps she thought that it was a little corny?)

It’s a 67 year old film and still touches my heart. It’s all about love, sharing, the value of friends, and how life changes for many people if one person is no longer around.

When I worked in South Africa this film was always shown during the day time. I pointed out to my South African employers that the movie was an important part of my American culture and heritage. My employers were always gracious and understanding. I was either allowed to go home and watch the film (as a paid absence) or I was allowed to bring a portable television to work and watch the film while I worked.

Going back even further to 1989, I was living in Los Angeles. my domestic partner at the time, Antonieta Fuentes, and I were invited to attend a Christmas eve service at a Presbyterian church in Beverly Hills. The guest of honor as none other than jimmy Stewart. We accepted the invitation with great enthusiasm. For some trivial reason now forgotten after 24 years, we did not make it to the church service. I regret this every day of my life. I would have loved to talk briefly with the great man about “It’s A Wonderful Life.”

About tatamkuluafrica

I am a man who has lived n 6 of the 7 continents. I first arrived in Africa on April 18, 1981. Africa has been a part of my life since. I spent 8 months living in a Xhosa village in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa. I was given he nickname Tatamkulu Africa. In Xhosa it means "Grandfather Africa." In April of 1994 I was allowed to vote in the first democratic election in South Africa..I was honored to be part of such a historical moment. It was a beautiful and a magical day.

Leave a Reply

