Posted on

A Farewell To American Warriors Lost In War

Tomorrow is Memorial Day here in the USA. We honor and remember the sacrifices of the brave men and women who fought for our country. I want to take a moment to remember some dear friends who suffered and died fighting in Vietnam as follows:

1) Michael “Terry” Irby
2) John Wright
3) Larry Joe White
4) Ronald Athenasiou

Also wounded in Vietnam was my dear friend Gunnery Sergeant Michael Harris. He literally got his nose blown off when a mortar shell exploded. His fellow Marines found his nose and put it on his stretcher. Very good US Navy doctors saved Michael’s life and reattached his nose. He survived Vietnam but died in 2005 at a relatively young age. (I suspect that his war injuries shortened his life.)

Also if you came to our house and went into the study, you would find a Purple Heart certificate hanging right below my college diploma.I was also one of the wounded from Vietnam.

My final words to all politicians with the power to start wars-think long and hard before you take such an action!!!

About tatamkuluafrica

I am a man who has lived n 6 of the 7 continents. I first arrived in Africa on April 18, 1981. Africa has been a part of my life since. I spent 8 months living in a Xhosa village in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa. I was given he nickname Tatamkulu Africa. In Xhosa it means "Grandfather Africa." In April of 1994 I was allowed to vote in the first democratic election in South Africa..I was honored to be part of such a historical moment. It was a beautiful and a magical day.

Leave a Reply

