Posted on

A Humble And Hard-Working Man Retires

Ever since Elena and I came to Pacifica on her birthday in 2004, Kent Cleaners at 119 Manor Drive here in Pacifica has been our laundry. Jimmy Li is the owner. Jimmy was not only a great dry cleaning person. He was also a very accomplished tailor. I lost my US Navy jacket in 1994. In 2005 I found a replacement jacket and all of the patches from 1971-1972. Jimmy got the jacket put together. I got a precious part of my life back. Many other times Jimmy helped us with repairs and alterations.

He is a hard-working and honest man. He is religious and a great family man. He was so proud when his daughter earned her MBA from Loyola Marymont college in Los Angeles.

I took in our dry cleaning. I expected to see Jimmy greeting me at the counter. Instead a Chinese lady greeted me. She explained to me that Jimmy had retired and she was the new owner. I put in our dry cleaning and will stay with the shop.

Jimmy enjoy your retirement! We appreciate all of your good work and loyalty. We will miss you!

About tatamkuluafrica

I am a man who has lived n 6 of the 7 continents. I first arrived in Africa on April 18, 1981. Africa has been a part of my life since. I spent 8 months living in a Xhosa village in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa. I was given he nickname Tatamkulu Africa. In Xhosa it means "Grandfather Africa." In April of 1994 I was allowed to vote in the first democratic election in South Africa..I was honored to be part of such a historical moment. It was a beautiful and a magical day.

Leave a Reply

