Posted on

The Television Show Dragnet Circa 1950

Yesterday I got to call Elena at her friend’s house in Buenos Aires and wish her a happy birthday. She was in good spirits. Later in the afternoon I got to watch episodes of Dragnet screened on television between 1950 and 1953. I was alive then but we did not have a television all of those years ago. I guess that you can say that I am “catching up on things.” These episodes show that over 60 years ago police had to deal with things like serial killers, teenagers dying from heroin overdoses, street gangs, etc. The police are shown as being decent and over worked. What is not shown there is police beating suspects, etc.

About tatamkuluafrica

I am a man who has lived n 6 of the 7 continents. I first arrived in Africa on April 18, 1981. Africa has been a part of my life since. I spent 8 months living in a Xhosa village in the Eastern Cape Province of South Africa. I was given he nickname Tatamkulu Africa. In Xhosa it means "Grandfather Africa." In April of 1994 I was allowed to vote in the first democratic election in South Africa..I was honored to be part of such a historical moment. It was a beautiful and a magical day.

Leave a comment